James H – IB English Tutor

Attain confidence and excellence with a tutor whose ATAR was 98.8!

Interested in hiring James to be your tutor?

About James

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to visit my profile.

I attained an ATAR of 98.8 when I graduated with an IB Diploma from the International School of Manila, Philippines. My highest scoring subjects were Higher level English and Psychology and Standard level Mathematics Methods which all scored a 7, the highest mark possible. I am currently in my final year of a Bachelor of Arts at the University of Sydney, majoring in English and Film Studies. I am a member of the Golden Key International Honour Society.

Making sure my students attain confidence and excellence in the subjects I tutor is my top priority. I create a challenging but fun and encouraging atmosphere that supports students to do their best. I am passionate about literature, drama, and film, and I believe my experience and knowledge of the field helps students succeed.

Often students might find the subject dry and unengaging. With my breadth of knowledge and experience, I am able to relate the more boring topics to ideas and concepts that the student is more interested in. For example, my experience of performing in several Shakespearean productions allows me to take the script and turn it into something that the student can imagine.

I am skilled in many areas, including:

-Essay writing at a university level (several of my essays have received the high distinction mark)

-Debate and analytical reasoning

-English language

-Shakespeare and poetry

Part of my offering includes phone and email support 7 days per week, so should you have any questions throughout the week, I can offer you help as needed. I will also include my notes, and any relevant quotes that you may need.

I live in the Ryde area, so you’re welcome to come to me or I can come to you – whichever suits you. There is a travel charge of $10 for those living over 20-30 minutes away from my location. I am available 7 days per week; please see the times when I am available to tutor you. I will do my utmost best to accommodate you into my schedule.

I also hold a valid Working with Children’s Check and valid NSW driving license.

I am only charging $40 per hour but your very first half hour is free of charge! Contact me today and let’s get you on the right track to achieving success this year!

Interested in hiring James to be your tutor?

James H – IB English Tutor