Get the latest updates on whether in-person lessons can go ahead in your area.Tell me more
Tutor Profile Page
Step 1
Step 2
Step 3
Step 4
How would you like to be tutored?
In Person
Isabel Y

Isabel Y

Hi! I'm Isabel Y - VCE Mathematical Methods and VCE Chemistry Tutor & I am here to help you succeed!

  • Fill 1Chemistry
  • Fill 1Maths Methods


Hello, thank you so much for visiting my profile!

Whether you are a parent or a VCE student, I would LOVE to meet you and get to know your child/ you more!

My name is Isabel, a Methods and Chemistry VCE tutor for 4 years (Units 1&2 and 3&4). I have a passion for teaching and love for VCE Methods and Chemistry!


I am a Malaysian Chinese who migrated to Australia in 2011. I studied Grade 6 and high school (graduated 2017) in Melbourne and am currently finishing my Bachelor of Biomedicine at Melbourne University. I am fluent in Mandarin, English and can understand some Cantonese and Fuchow.

Brief Work Experience

  • Part-time Private Tutor in 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 (online).Teach VCE Methods and VCE Chemistry
  • Planning and preparing tuition materials
  • Communicating with students in areas needing help
  • Answering questions and giving advice in study
  • Part-time VCE Tutor at Wantirna College in 2018.Teach VCE subjects I studied
  • Communicating with students in areas needing help
  • Answering questions and giving advice in study
  • Casual assistant in Kumon Knoxfield for almost 6 years (2012 to 2018).Teach Maths and English (From prep to high school level)
  • Oversee, supervise and mark students’ work

What is included?

  • Detailed notes for each topic that I go through in class
  • Questions for a deeper understanding of the topics (reinforce memory, exam-styled)
  • Practise Exams (VCAA and other companies)
  • Going ahead of school
  • Homework (depending on student’s progress/ situation)
  • Good study habits and exam tips

* I am flexible to change according to your needs! Let me know!



  • I prefer tutoring from my home in Wantirna but I don’t mind travelling to your place if you live anywhere within 15km drive (Wantirna, Wantirna South, Bayswater, Vermont, Vermont South, Heathmont, Knoxfield, Glen Waverley). Note that travelling to your place will cost $10 more.
  • I also do online tutoring.

Cost (for in-person and online)

  • I like to have a set lesson time every week and do not mind having group lessons. I charge:$55 an hour for one-on-one lessons
  • $50 an hour per person for 2 students
  • $45 an hour per person for 3 or more students
  • So get your friends for a cheaper price! I am happy to help find others to do group lessons, however, there is no guarantee in finding students.
  • *Prices listed above do not include travelling to your place (additional $10 per lesson)


  • For Units 1&2, I recommend 1.5 hours per subject.
  • For Units 3&4, I recommend 2 hours per subject.
  • This is so I can be ahead of school and students can have more time to practise questions and ask questions.


  • Holidays: Most days except Sundays.
  • School Days: Currently confirming my timetable to give accurate weekday times. Available on Saturdays.

Thank you for reading through all this and I hope to hear from you soon! Feel free to let me know if you have any concerns or questions and hopefully I can help you out with it!


"Isabel has been an amazing help for my daughter with Maths Methods Unit 1 & 2, and Chemistry Unit 1 & 2. My daughter was not able to complete methods at school due to clashes with subjects, so enrolled with Virtual School Victoria (VSV). She did not have any support at school with completing or teaching the work, and there were no classes for her to attend to complete the work. Everything had to be done in her own time, which is where Isabel really helped out.

She spent the time going through the VSV coursework, and preparing my daughter for the weekly tasks, and helped her understand the exercises.

Isabel’s dedication with preparing revision work prior to lessons, and spending the time helping my daughter work through the tasks has been extremely helpful, and we could not recommend her strongly enough!!

Thank you Isabel." - Chris, Parent