Thomas B – VCE English Tutor

“VCE isn’t inherently an overwhelming period. With the right help, it can be no problem at all. Let’s tackle it together!”

Interested in hiring Thomas to be your tutor?

About Thomas

Hey! I appreciate you taking the time to read this. My name is Thomas, I’m currently living at Monash University in Clayton and I love tutoring.

I achieved an ATAR of 95.10, with an English study score of 44, in 2015 and am currently studying a bachelor of Science Advanced- Research at Monash. I engage in many hobbies including badminton, social justice activism and playing various instruments including violin, trumpet and bass guitar. I was able to keep this up during grade 12 due to my ability to manage my time and study habits. I believe VCE doesn’t have to be a time of stress and sacrifice if you handle it correctly and the ability to do so is what I want to share with you.

During my time at TSFX, I was able to meet with VCE English Examiners who helped me create a list of the most helpful tips for students when preparing for their English exam which I share with all my students.

My experience:

I tutored English, Biology and Psychology at my high school, Emmanuel College Notre Dame, throughout my VCE and was once asked to teach a grade 12 biology class for a week to allow the teacher to hold private interviews with students. I’ve had good results with my tutoring so far but want to kick it up a notch now that I’m with Learnmate.

I’m a residential advisor for Monash Residential which means I’m trained in communication, mental health management, first aid and diversity awareness. I use this training to create an effective and comfortable learning environment for all my students.

I also hold a valid working with children check and mental health first aid certificate.

As part of my degree, I study communication and presentation and this has provided me with invaluable literary skills that I would be more than willing to share with you.

Costs, Location & Availability:

I’ll do my best to accommodate for your schedule when organising our tutoring sessions. Living at Monash University, I am always near a library and public transport and thus available to meet up often and at short notice if necessary. I also check my emails daily so will be highly responsive should you need help between tutoring sessions.

My charge is only $40 per hour and I offer a free 30-minute introductory session to let us become acquainted, comfortable and prepared to learn.

Interested in hiring Thomas to be your tutor?

Thomas B – VCE English Tutor