Nathalie H – Primary School, Years 7 – 10 Science, Maths, HSC and IB Biology, Chemistry, Chinese B SL and UCAT Tutor

I hope to guide students through their thought process when answering questions, rather than just provide them with answers to questions. I believe teaching them the skills to become independent learners is a valuable skill which would go a long way beyond HSC years.

Interested in hiring Nathalie to be your tutor?

About Nathalie

ABOUT ME!

Hi, I’m Nathalie, a 4th-year Medical Student in UNSW and will be doing my research year in 2020. As I’ll have more free time this year, I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to tutor students as my passion lies in the Sciences and in teaching! I’m looking forward to tutoring Year 11-12 Biology (this is my forte) and Chemistry, as well as Primary and Year 7-10 Mathematics and Sciences.

I never had tuition as a student, but always placed much importance in loving what I studied. Whenever I had difficult topics to conquer, I’d find ways to use existing knowledge to reason out the concepts, and this thought process really helped me develop confidence in my studies as I had a strong foundation. It also helped me answer application questions and learn hard concepts easily. This helped me improve a lot in school, and helped me find studying more enjoyable. Eventually, I consistently achieved the highest bands in these subjects. I hope to guide students through their thought process when answering questions, rather than just provide them with answers to questions. I believe teaching them the skills to become independent learners is a valuable skill which would go a long way beyond HSC years. I also place much importance in setting goals for students, and am happy to provide advice to those interested in applying for Medicine locally and abroad as I have been through this (including securing an interview at Oxford for Medicine!).

I studied the International Baccalaureate syllabus and had an ATAR of 99.45 (Biology HL 7/7, Chemistry HL 7/7, Mathematics HL 6/7, English Literature SL 5/7, Chinese B 7/7, Economics SL 7/7). Before that I also took the Singapore-Cambridge GCE O Level Examinations in Year 10 in 2014, where I had a perfect score (English Language, Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, English Literature, Chinese, Higher Music, Biology, Chemistry). I was also the top student in Biology in my school in Year 1 of IB, and earned a position in my school’s Dean’s List for the subject.

I will be able to tutor online and in-person. I hope to tutor you according to your needs which we will discuss in the first session. I will generally provide classes and notes on topics, go through practice papers and any questions you have, and will be happy to answer your questions through text/email any day.

MY LOCATION, COSTS AND AVAILABILITY!

I’m able to tutor in your home (if it’s less than a 10min walk from the train/Metro station), or at local libraries in the Eastern Suburbs, Ryde, Inner West, Epping, Northwest, Hills and Parramatta, Chatswood and Macquarie areas. Online tutoring via Microsoft Teams, Zoom or Skype is also an option.

Cost for Year 7-12 classes

  • Online: $45/h for individuals, $40/h/person in groups of 2 or more
  • Individual in person: $50/h
  • Groups of 2 in person: $40/h/person
  • Groups of 3 in person: $35/h/person

Cost for Primary School Classes

  • Online: $35/h/person
  • Individual in person: $40/h
  • Groups of 2 or more in person: $37/h

Availability

  • Weekdays (Except Thursday): 5pm onwards
  • Thursday: 3pm onwards
  • Saturdays: 8am to 8pm
  • Sundays: 9am to 9pm

Although setting classes on a regular basis is preferred, I can be flexible with timings from week to week if that suits you better.

Interested in hiring Nathalie to be your tutor?

Nathalie H – Primary School, Years 7 – 10 Science, Maths, HSC and IB Biology, Chemistry, Chinese B SL and UCAT Tutor