Get the latest updates on whether in-person lessons can go ahead in your area.Tell me more
bg-image-header
Tutor Profile Page
Step 1
>
Step 2
>
Step 3
>
Step 4
How would you like to be tutored?
Online
In Person
Michael J

Michael J

Hi, I’m Michael, am experienced Years 7- 12 VCE Latin, VCE French, Years 11-12 VCE English Language, VCE Revolutions and VCE Classical Studies Tutor (99.45), and I'm here to help you improve your scores and get as much out of their school experience as I did.

  • Fill 1Classical Studies
  • Fill 1Revolutions
  • Fill 1English Language
  • Fill 1French
  • Fill 1Latin

ABOUT ME

Hello!

I completed VCE in 2017 with an ATAR of 99.45, and I’m currently studying Arts at the University of Melbourne, with a double major in linguistics and classics, including a semester overseas studying French at SciencesPo in Paris and receiving prizes for academic achievement (Dean’s Honours List and prizes for classics. I tutor in the following subjects:

  • Latin (Years 7-10 & VCE) (44 raw, 53 scaled)
  • French (Years 7-10 & VCE) (39 raw, 48 scaled)
  • English Language (VCE) (40 raw, 42 scaled)
  • History: Revolutions (VCE, Russian and Chinese revolutions) (41 raw, 41 scaled)
  • Classical Studies (VCE) (44 raw, 45 scaled)

I’m really passionate about what I do – I’ve gone on to study some of these subjects at university because they’re what I love. I found school exciting and enlightening, and I want to help others get as much out of their school experience as I did. With two years’ worth of experience, I know that teaching skills and approaches to a subject is just as important as the content, so I can provide you with detailed notes, practice questions, and high-scoring model responses; I’m available by phone and email whenever you need support. I believe everyone can always improve, and I’m always trying to make myself a better tutor.


LOCATION, COSTS AND AVAILABILITY

I’m based in Melbourne’s East, so I can tutor anywhere nearby (e.g. in suburbs like Mont Albert, Balwyn, Box Hill, Surrey Hills, and Doncaster) or in the CBD at the State Library or the University of Melbourne. I am generally available throughout the week – feel free to get in touch with whatever time suits you.

For one-on-one lessons, I charge $65 per hour for Latin and $60 for other subjects; feel free to contact me about reduced rates for group lessons too.

I also hold a Working with Children Check.

Thanks for taking a look at my profile – hope to hear from you soon!


FEEDBACK

"He’s great and responsible, much appreciated!" - John, Parent