Get the latest updates on whether in-person lessons can go ahead in your area.Tell me more
bg-image-header
Tutor Profile Page
Step 1
>
Step 2
>
Step 3
>
Step 4
How would you like to be tutored?
Online
In Person
Leon M

Leon M

Hi! I'm Leon, a Years 7 - 10, SACE Chemistry (20), Physics (19.8), Methods (19.8), Biology (19) and Specialist Maths tutor (19.2) who hopes to share my passion!

  • Fill 1Science
  • Fill 1Physics
  • Fill 1Maths
  • Fill 1Specialist Maths
  • Fill 1Maths Methods
  • Fill 1Chemistry
  • Fill 1Biology

ABOUT ME

Hi, thank you for visiting my profile!

My name is Leon M and as a recent SACE graduate I achieved an ATAR of 99.85 and subject merits in the following subjects:

  • Chemistry (20)
  • Physics (19.8)
  • Mathematical Studies/Methods (19.8)
  • Research Project (9.9)

I also achieved A’s for Specialist Mathematics and Biology. I am currently studying a Bachelor of Engineering (Petroleum and Chemical) at the University of Adelaide.

I completely understand and appreciate why some students find it hard to take a liking to maths and science subjects, especially when nothing seems to click. I have a deep passion for maths and science and I want to share that with others by teaching these subjects in a way that is accessible to all. I genuinely believe that having a teacher who is passionate about what they teach makes all the difference in developing your own understanding.

As a tutor, I do not want to approach lessons in the same dry, ordinary way in which most school and tutoring classes are conducted. I believe the best approach in maths and science is to really understand the basics and then learn ways to apply your knowledge in unfamiliar contexts, which is required in SACE examinations. This is best achieved when you can make connections between the course content and the real world as this allows you to develop a deeper understanding of the concepts, rather than trying to simply memorised and recite facts.

I OFFER:


  • 24/7 email, skype and instant messaging support.
  • Assignment assistance and drafting.
  • Summary notes (updated for the new curriculum).
  • Practice tests and practice exams.



LOCATION, COSTS AND AVAILABILITY

Your own home.

Mutual place such as a public library.

I am available 7 days a week and will try to accommodate the best time for you.

$40 per hour with the first one hour session free of charge.

$5 travel fee if location is more than 30 minutes from Grange.


FEEDBACK

"I was very happy with the service I received from your company and extremely happy with Leon. Leon is punctual, organised and friendly." - Jodie, Past Parent

"Excellent tutor, always punctual, personable and organised. Has the ability to break down complex problems through diagrams etc which our daughter finds extremely helpful for her yr 12 Biology. I would not hesitate to recommend Leon." - Jodie, Past Parent

"Thankyou very much. Leon McCalla is an absolutely AMAZING tutor! Autumn couldn’t have done so well all year (year 12) without him. She even received an early offer to her first choice degree because of his support in Chemistry and his support of her to work hard, study hard. He goes so far above and beyond what we ever expected or dreamed. Couldn’t recommend him higher!" - Kim, Parent

"Leon is a fantastic tutor – attentive, approachable, patient, kind and courteous. He is also punctual and a fantastic communicator. Thanks Leon for your help and guidance. Kind regards, Ken." - Ken Parent