Laura M – VCE English Language Tutor

“Choose a tutor that understands high school, understands coursework and understand you!”

Interested in hiring Laura to be your tutor?

About Laura

Hi, thanks for taking the time to visit my profile!

I graduated from Our Lady of Mercy College with a 93.4 ATAR in 2017 and received an early offer from LaTrobe to study law and journalism.  From my own experiences I understand the challenges of high school and year 12 while juggling sport, work and captaincy commitments, therefore it is my aim to ensure that as your tutor I will understand you and your goals!  With this in mind, I am an experienced tutor that knows how to get the best out of every student!

In 2019 my students experienced great success, achieving study scores above 40 and more importantly a sense of achievement and enjoyment.

In addition, school for me has never been a chore or a bore.  Instead I truly have a passion for the subjects I tutor and hope to bring this passion to our sessions so that you can achieve all of your goals and more!

I believe that one of the most important qualities a tutor should have is the ability to guide a student as a true mentor.  I have extensive experience as a tutor and mentor, participating in voluntary reading clubs to assist primary school students, multiple years as a netball coach in both voluntary and paid positions and most significantly supporting my younger sister in year 11 English Language in 2017 where she then achieved an excellence award in that subject.

In 2017 I achieved a 42 in English Language and am therefore familiar with the current study design for Units 1/2 and Units 3/4 English Language, and I am able to assist in a variety of ways:

  • SAC preparation
  • Reviewing assessment tasks
  • Structuring essays and analytical commentaries
  • Providing extra notes
  • Understanding contemporary evidence
  • Revising metalanguage
  • Lots more!

Price and Availability
I live in the Heidelberg Heights area and hold a valid Working with Children’s Check and Victorian Driver’s Licence.  I can therefore come to you at either your home or a local library.  I am available 7 days a week at negotiated times with limited weekend availability.  I will do my very best to accommodate you into my schedule.

I am only charging $50 per hour for one on one tutoring, which also covers the cost of extra notes, my travel to your location and 24/7 email support.  Please note that if travel by car is over 25 minutes each way, an extra $5 will be added.

For group sessions (2-4 people) I am only charging $40 per hour per person, which again covers all of the benefits previously listed, all you have to do is form your own group!

Due to current circumstances I am now also offering online tutoring via Zoom for $45 per hour.

I hope to see you soon!

Interested in hiring Laura to be your tutor?

Laura M – VCE English Language Tutor