Get the latest updates on whether in-person lessons can go ahead in your area.Tell me more
bg-image-header
Tutor Profile Page
Step 1
>
Step 2
>
Step 3
>
Step 4
How would you like to be tutored?
Online
In Person
Laura D

Laura D

Hi! I’m Laura, a Primary School, Years 7-10, QCE English (VHA 7), General Mathematics (A), Biology (A) and Chemistry (B+) Tutor, and I aim to make learning easy and fun, and not the chore that so many people think it has to be.

  • Fill 1Biology
  • Fill 1Chemistry
  • Fill 1Maths
  • Fill 1General Mathematics
  • Fill 1English

ABOUT ME

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to read my profile.

During my time at High School I obtained the highest grade in English and Philosophy and Reason in my Cohort, with a VHA 7 and 6 respectively. I also completed year 12 with A’s in Biology and Maths B, and a B+ in Chemistry. During my schooling, I consistently received awards for Very High Achievement across my classes, placing me in the top 5% of students in my Cohort.

My passion for science has been the driving force behind my choice to further my education in this department, and I am currently studying a Bachelor of Science, where I am majoring in Biochemistry and Microbiology.

I am aware that subjects like Biology and Chemistry are heavy, and that it is easy to get bogged down in the vocabulary and concepts. I aim to simplify these concepts and break down vocabulary into bite sized chunks.

I am also well aware that the books studied in Authority English are usually less than entertaining. I am passionate about English, and spend my spare time reading and writing short stories, yet I vividly remember slogging through Macbeth and The Merchant of Venice in my senior years. It is for that reason that I would love to impart my passion for English onto my students.

Maths B assignments were my bane in High School. They were the only type of assessment that brought me to literal tears. If you are struggling with Maths B, I would love to help you, if only to prevent you from suffering as I did.

I hope to not only teach you the content of these subjects, but to teach you techniques that will help you to teach yourself so that you become more self-reliant and self-confident in preparation for any type of tertiary studies. I aim to make learning easy and fun, and not the chore that so many people think it has to be.



LOCATION, COSTS AND AVAILABILITY

I am available to tutor in the following Suburbs:

Cleveland, Redland Bay, Thornlands, Ormiston, Alexandra Hills, Upper Mt Gravatt and Capalaba

I am available to tutor online.

I am available:

  • Monday: 3pm- 8pm
  • Tuesday: 3pm-8pm
  • Wednesday: 3pm-8pm
  • Thursday: 3pm-8pm
  • Friday: 3pm-8pm

My services cost:

  • $35/h for in person tuition
  • $30/h for online tuition
  • Travel Fee: $5/20 minutes



FEEDBACK

"Excellent! on time, very knowledgeable, connects well with my daughter, flexible cannot speak highly enough of Laura." - Amanda, Parent

"Laura is engaging really well with my daughter Naomi. She explains things very well . We are very pleased." - Michelle, Parent

"Very helpful" - Jaymee, Student

"AMAZING!!!" - Jaymee Student

"Laura is fab. She is a great tutor for our daughter Ella. She has lots of patience. Ella’s math skills have improved so much with her input. Ella is much more confident and now enjoys the subject. Something she has never done before. Thank you Laura very much. We appreciate your time and support." - Joanne, Parent