Get the latest updates on whether in-person lessons can go ahead in your area.Tell me more
bg-image-header
Tutor Profile Page
Step 1
>
Step 2
>
Step 3
>
Step 4
How would you like to be tutored?
Online
In Person
Jesse G

Jesse G

Hi! I'm Jesse, a Primary School, Years 7-10, and HSC English Standard, English Advanced, English Extension 1 & 2, Drama, Visual Arts, Music 1 & 2 Tutor. I specialise in teaching music theory and practice, essay writing, creative writing and philosophy for Macquarie University's Office of Indigenous Strategy.

  • Fill 1English
  • Fill 1Music (1 and 2)
  • Fill 1Music
  • Fill 1Visual Arts
  • Fill 1Drama
  • Fill 1English Extension 1
  • Fill 1English Extension 2
  • Fill 1English Advanced
  • Fill 1English (Standard)

ABOUT ME

Hi! My name is Jesse, and I’ve been tutoring both for Macquarie University and privately since 2018.  I offer tutoring in the subjects of English (Standard, Advanced and Extension 1 & 2), Drama, Visual Arts and Music 1 & 2, as well as general English and Music tutoring for primary school students in piano, drums, guitar, and music composition and theory for all skill levels.

I specialise in teaching music theory and practice, essay writing, creative writing and philosophy for Macquarie University’s Office of Indigenous Strategy. I am the office’s singular First Year Advisor for Music, and part of my duties for the university also involve tutoring Year 11 students who aspire to gain early access into university, as well as instructing new tutors in teaching high school students. Essentially, it is my job to get HSC students into tertiary education, so you can rest assured that I have the expertise necessary to help my students excel in their studies!

I completed the HSC in 2015, after which I immediately went on to tertiary study. I finished my Bachelor of Arts with a Major in Music in 2018 when I was asked to tutor for the university, earning a GPA of 3.826 on a 4 point scale, and I finished my Bachelor of Philosophy in 2020 with a GPA of 6.5 on a 7 point scale. I’m also aiming to finish my Master of Education in the coming years and become a high school teacher, so I’ve been living and breathing tutoring for the past few years, and I’m very dedicated to helping my students learn as much as they can while having a good time along the way.

I’m an expert in teaching essay writing and creative writing as well as critical analysis; your control of language will increase exponentially as you spend time with me. If you’re coming to me for music tutoring, I can also teach new performance techniques for a variety of musical instruments; I will sharpen and expand your theoretical understanding, and I can offer guidance and help with any compositions.

 

LOCATION, COSTS AND AVAILABILITY

In the current climate, I offer online tutoring only, but that will change in the future.

My rates are $65/hour for high school students, or $55/hour for primary school students.

I also offer group tutoring at $45/hour for groups of two and $40/hour for groups of three, or $40/hour and $35/hour respectively for primary school students.

I’m flexible and accommodating with my availability, so I should be able to make most times work.

If you have any questions or want to discuss something, please feel free to get in touch!