Cara W – VCE English & VCE Biology Tutor

“My goal is to help you learn how to study so you can ace your VCE exams!”

Interested in hiring Cara to be your tutor?

About Cara

Hey! Thanks for stopping by my profile.

I’m Cara, and I graduated from Shelford Girls’ Grammar in 2014 with an ATAR of 92.65, receiving a study score of 40 in Biology and 42 in English.

What I offer:

Biology Tutoring

I am currently studying the Bachelor of Science at The University of Melbourne, maintaining a Second Class Honours average. I’ve acquired oodles of biology resources after having done the subject in great detail both in high school and at University. I know how content-heavy biology is, and how overwhelming this can be – I’m here to help break it all down with you until it all becomes second nature.

English Tutoring

English was my best subject in VCE and after having studied my butt off for it, I don't want all my practise essays wasted – they're all yours if you want them! I did All About Eve for my text and Whose Reality for my context (I chose to write a creative piece, but am familiar with expository essays as well). If you're doing another text/context, I'm more than happy to read/watch it and help you out.

My teaching style:

I aim to help you ‘learn how to study’ – a technique many high school students fail to develop in time. It comes in handy for the future at University or even in the workforce – so it’s an invaluable skill!

I understand that everyone learns differently, and so I adapt my teaching style accordingly. Some of the resources I provide are:

  • Colour-coordinated diagrams, mind-maps and drawings made during the session to stick on your bedroom wall (if that’s how you roll) – suitable for visual learners
  • Each session will be recorded so you can play back our lessons during revision – suitable for auditory learners
  • Near-perfect sets of colourful, indexed, glossary-included notes I’ve compiled over several years
  • Practice exams/practice questions with worked answers, textbooks, and access to all my own past exams and practice essays

Costs, location and availability:

I live in Brunswick, so the CBD is my home – I’m happy to meet you at any Melbourne University library, at the State Library, or I can come to you if you’re nearby.

I only charge $40/hr for one-on-one sessions, and my rates are even cheaper if you’d like group sessions – just flick me a message and we’ll arrange it.

I’m available every day except Wednesday and Friday, but am contactable 24/7 via text message to answer any questions.

I hold a valid Working with Children’s Check.

Thank you, and I look forward to working with you!

Interested in hiring Cara to be your tutor?

Cara W – VCE English & VCE Biology Tutor